Spending My Day in the Metro: A First for 2015

Going to the Metro is quite an event for me since I decided working at home from May of last year. It happened the other day, January 18, 2015 – a first for this year.

It’s Sunday. I woke up very early at 6:00 in the morning. I lazed in bed until 6:20. These ‘bed’ weather and four hours of sleep were forcing me to postpone my agenda for that day. In the end though, I was able to fight back the temptation of sleeping again. I got up and prepared to leave at 8:00.

By 8:30 in the morning, it started to rain. Just in time, I rode a bus bound for Ortigas. It took me only an hour and a half to get to SM Megamall.

I think I arrived around 9:55 because there were still a lot of people lined outside the mall. I was early as expected. Anyway, after a few minutes, I’m inside this big mall and went straight to Papemelroti, a store which features handcrafted products, located in the lower ground floor. I grabbed the opportunity to buy additional notebooks which I use in writing my favorite book quotes. I bought three, so now, I have a total of nine mini notebooks at home.

My new mini notebooks
My new mini notebooks
My other mini notebooks. :)
My other mini notebooks. 🙂

At around 10:30, I’m already in the 4th floor of St. Francis building (the building just across SM Megamall). I have a couple of minutes to spare so I rested at the bench outside the auditorium with three others also killing time. It’s good to see an old couple, sitting beside me, having their breakfast together – coffee and sandwiches. I don’t usually see old couples spending such precious time in public so I tried really hard to suppress my smile. I don’t want them to notice me and then spoil their precious moment together.

At 10:50, we all went up to the auditorium located in the 5th floor. At exactly 11:00, we were already singing songs of praises to the Lord. The Sunday service in CCF has started. It’s been over a year since I last step foot in church. I felt ashamed and guilty for not giving the Lord the time that He deserves. I was overwhelmed with emotions and while singing the worship songs, I burst into tears. I felt the Holy Spirit embracing me and at that time, I knew, God misses me a lot. It was such a great feeling to finally be able to get on my feet and sing of His glory together with all the other churchgoers. It’s true that we can praise and glorify God in private but it’s better to be able to do it with your other brothers and sisters in Christ as well. I know, it was all on me. I had so many excuses that’s why I have not been able to go to church for ages. But now, I want to go to church for as much as I can. It may not be weekly, but definitely not once a year nor semi-annually.

The topic in this service was about Spirit-filled Living. The message was shared by Pastor Peter Tan-Chi. Here’s an excerpt:

What it means to be filled with the Spirit:

The best evidence of being Spirit-filled is Christlikeness. To be filled with the Spirit is to become more like Christ day by day. A Spirit-filled person overflows with love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control (Galatians 5:22-23).

In addition, as Christians, we should live our lives in a way that pleases the Lord which means obeying your parents, following the authorities and subjecting yourselves to your husbands (this goes for the wives). These are all indicated in the Bible and Pastor Tan- Chi gave such wonderful explanations of God’s Words. This part hits me most especially the obeying your parents’ part (actually, it always does every time I hear it in church). We may find some of our parents’ decisions (concerning our lives of course) as absurd and unreasonable. I know. It happened to me a couple of times, but just like what the Bible says in Ephesians 6:1, “Children, obey your parents in the Lord, for this is right.” Yes, we should always obey our parents. Some things can go out of hand at times, but we can be assured of the fact that God will always be in charge.

The service ended around 1:00 in the afternoon. I really felt good after it. It was like the tears I cried in the first 10 minutes of the service included all the pains I’ve been trying to hide these past few months. God took away all my burdens.  He definitely did. He lightened up my load so I no longer have to bear it alone. For that, I am utterly grateful.

After the service, I went straight to SM Megamall’s Foodcourt as I can hear my tummy already calling out for food. I ordered an ‘overloaded’ Greenwich meal and sat among all the others who were also enjoying their lunch that time. I chose a table in front which only has three chairs in it. I think it would be rude to choose a table which can accommodate at least four people when I am the only one eating there. Anyway, I didn’t feel intimidated. Well…okay, let’s say just 1% intimidation whenever passersby look at me with those sort of questioning eyes. This isn’t my first time eating alone (though it’s my first time eating alone in this place specifically) so it’s no longer a big deal to me. I’m eating and I’m having a big lunch so that’s all that matter.

I finished my meal at quarter to two and decided to wander around so I can be sure that I no longer have to go to the washroom (if you know what I mean). As expected, I found myself buried in hundreds of books in Book Sale. Man, this place is a paradise! Books are way, way cheaper in stores like this and at that time, they were also on sale, so it couldn’t get any better. It was also good to see a lot of people here. Although the place was quite crowded, I still managed to go through all the shelves searching for books that will catch my attention. To tell you the truth, it’s really hard for me to walk into a bookstore and walk out without at least a book or two in my hands. So the result? I got my first two new books for this year! Hear ye! I think I hit a jackpot in these books. I’m looking forward to reading these soon.

new books for 2015
Jackpot!!

I also asked the Book Sale staff if they have the Revolutionary Life of Che Guevarra or any other books about Che Guevarra and Animal Farm by George Orwell (I already have 1984 and I’m looking into more of Orwell’s works) but he said they don’t have any of those. I was hoping to buy either of these two books that day on a much cheaper price but since they don’t have it, I think I’ll be purchasing brand new copies within the year instead. 🙂

I decided to go home at around 3:00 in the afternoon. It was raining hard the moment I stepped out of the mall. Good thing though only a few people were in the waiting area. There were also several buses bound for Malanday so I got on one in no time. The travel was yet again a breeze and I got home at around 4:45 in the afternoon.

I originally planned to open classes that night, perhaps around 8:00 in the evening but decided against it since I wanted to cover my new books right away (I always have stocks of scotch tapes and plastic cover at home ready to welcome them). I got everything done then and slept at around 11 in the evening (it’s rare for me to sleep this early actually).

So that’s how my day went. It’s by far, the best day of the year for me (to think that 2015 has just started). I am thankful that I was able to attend church again. I am truly happy to be able to ‘travel’ alone again. I really love riding buses on my own, seeing the raindrops on my window and listening to music. That’s peace right there. I miss that kind of feeling and I am really glad to experience it for the nth time last Sunday (I used to travel at least four hours a day for five days a week for more than three years when I was still working in a BPO).

Of course, flashbacks usually occur during my ‘quiet’ times. They always come even though I never invite them (not even once did I invite them). When the most unwanted memories creep in, I can only let out a deep sigh. I wish forgetting is as easy as emptying a cup of coffee. But it can’t be helped. That’s just the way it is. Despite all these, I know I’m truly blessed.

Thank You Lord for this memorable day! Thank You for this life! Cheers! 🙂

Leave a Reply

