My Thoughts on Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol

‘I love it.’– my reaction upon reaching the final page of this Dan Brown masterpiece.

I knew from the beginning that I will never regret buying this book and I’m happy that I was able to prove just that in the end. Like in his previous works, The Lost Symbol greatly showcases the amount of hard work the author had put in in crafting this novel. The facts perfectly fit the story. The twists and turns made me want to finish it in one sitting (I was unsuccessful though because I’m quite a slow reader).

On the other hand, I am no theologian so I can’t really argue on the author’s stand regarding certain aspects of the Word as written in the Bible. But what I do agree with is the fact that great people have also made big contributions in the totality of the Bible- people like the disciples Matthew, Peter and John.

It’s true that in the early days, way before the emergence of technological advances, the only subject of study is the human brain. A lot of people are fascinated by man’s way of thinking. A lot of people as well are seriously intrigued by the ability of men to predict or somehow foretell future circumstances. This is why the great philosophers that we know today- Plato, Aristotle, Confucius, Isaac Newton, Albert Einstein and many more have all lived hundreds of years ago. They have exerted great amount of effort in studying this so-called ‘brain’ and, I would say, have come close to discovering and understanding what man is really capable of doing.

I had a wonderful time reading this book (this is actually my 5th Dan Brown read and so far, I can say that all his works met my expectations). To think that the story took place in 24 hours and how the author managed to give me a tour of probably the 17th or 18th century and of course of the 21st century was just amazing. The ‘tour’ didn’t cover everything that I would want to explore in those eras but I must say what I have learned from reading this novel are enough. Well, more than enough to accept the fact that there are indeed Ancient Mysteries and that there are still more to the human brain that are left to uncover.

Every time I read a book, I make it a point to take note of the passages that caught my attention. Below are some of these memorable quotes.

“To live in the world without becoming aware of the meaning of the world is like wandering about in a great library without touching the books.”- The Secret Teachings of All Ages

“In the words of futurist Arthur C. Clarke, ‘Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic.’ ”- Robert Langdon

“What we have done for ourselves alone dies with us. What we have done for others and the world remains and is immortal.” – Albert Pike

“PRAISE GOD- the Masonic Pyramid’s final code.”- Peter Solomon

“What I’m saying is this…two heads are better than one…and yet two heads are not twice better, they are many, many times better. Multiple minds working in unison magnify a thought’s effect…exponentially. This is the inherent power of prayer groups, healing circles, singing in unison, and worshipping en masse.”- Katherine Solomon

The below conversation between Katherine Solomon and Robert Langdon is also one of my favorite passages in this book.

Langdon: It’s an inspiring way to see the world, Katherine, but for me, it just feels like an impossible leap of faith. And as you know, faith has never come easily for me.

Katherine: Then don’t think of it as faith. Think of it simply as changing your perspective, accepting that the world is not precisely as you imagine.

It’s true that some people are struggling with their faith – especially in their faith in the Supreme Being. But just like what Katherine Solomon had said, don’t think of it as faith, instead think of it as merely changing your perspective and from there, you will see the difference that it can make in your life.

Not to forget Peter Solomon’s story as well. I was moved by his actions towards his son. It was heartbreaking and moving at the same time. To see your son turn into a ‘monster’ is something that parents wouldn’t ever want to happen. But then again, you have to accept the fact that life is full of paradoxes, and having an offspring like that even though you’ve given him all the love and attention is one of life’s greatest ironies.

It’s good to have books that hone your imagination and arouse your curiosity. The Lost Symbol is one of those books.  I will definitely read this again! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

