A Review on Michael Crichton’s The State of Fear (finished on 29 July 2013)

<a href=”State of Fear by Michael Crichton
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

It’s been over a year since I last finished a sci-fi novel. So this book is like a breath of fresh air for me. I have rated Crichton’s State of Fear a 5 out of 5 because of the following:

As always, just like in my previous MC reads- Jurassic Park, The Lost World and Next, Crichton was successful in creating a clear picture of the setting of the story in his readers’ imagination. The places and circumstances have been well described in this book giving me, specifically, a distinct feel of witnessing the story unfold in real time.

I like the way the author included two main female character roles in his book. It just shows that he considered women being capable of doing men’s jobs and strong enough to survive in extremely dangerous circumstances.

This book made me realize how little I know about Global Warming. It also challenged me to know more about it. It is not enough to just rely and feed on all the news and pieces of information that the media is giving us. We must also do our own research to ensure that we are getting the correct and unbiased conclusions there are about certain studies. There may be no absolute truth, but the important thing is, we have lots of studies that we can compare with.

And the fact that there are organizations in real life that are willing to take actions to justify their fallacies is both amazing and scary. That’s propaganda at its peak.

State of Fear is indeed a well-written techno-thriller. I have always been interested in history, anthropology, sociology and technology and this book just gave me enough dozes of all of these. I didn’t expect that I’d be able to finish an almost 700-page book in a span of four days. I got really hooked to it!

View all my reviews” title=”A Review on Michael Crichton’s The State of Fear (finished on 29 July 2013)”>A Review on Michael Crichton’s The State of Fear (finished on 29 July 2013)

Leave a Reply

