Book Review on Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Novels and Stories, Volume 1 by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (finished on 27 November 2013)

<a href=”Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Novels and Stories, Volume ISherlock Holmes: The Complete Novels and Stories, Volume I by Arthur Conan Doyle
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

After going over my updates here in Goodreads, I realised it took me two solid months to finish Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Novels and Stories Volume 1- from 20 September until 20 November 2013. I thought I only had it for about a month. Anyway, as what most of us here will agree with, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle is such a genius for creating someone like Sherlock Holmes and for coming up with all his adventures set in 19th century London.

It is indeed never too late to read a book as good as this one. You wouldn’t dare skip a page when it comes to Sherlock Holmes.

I admire the author for his immeasurable writing skills and imagination, coming up with those bizarre cases and unusual methods of investigation which can only be carried out by none other than Sherlock Holmes and with the help of his most trusted friend, Dr. John Watson. I am at awe at how the cases are resolved. And my heart was broken with the Reichenback fall. Also, the letter he wrote for Watson is heartfelt and speaks of how much he wanted to free the society from the evil that is in Professor James Moriarty.

Really, it’s such a privilege to be able to have this wonderful reading experience. I am just over the moon! I love every part of this book, every page, every story..just everything!

I may be over-acting, but the truth is, I kind of fell in love with the character of Sherlock Holmes. He is one of a kind, a genius, an eccentric and I know when I’m with a person like him, my days will never be dull. I always look forward to the descriptions of Sherlock Holmes in this book. And to tell you, I have actually noted every Sherlock descriptions I encounter. And it makes me wonder, will I ever meet someone close to being a Sherlock Holmes in reality? Haha! I know that’s impossible. Sherlock is unique and no one else will ever be compared to him. So I guess I should be content with the fact that I can only meet him in my dreams. 🙂

I could definitely go on and on for days saying all the good things I can possibly say on Sherlock Holmes and his creator Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Will Webster even have enough words to describe how great and genius of a book this is?

And this is just Volume 1. We still have Volume 2. 🙂

Leave a Reply

